Let The 75th Annual Hunger- Uh, I Mean, I Went To The Big College

I find it intriguing, and utterly inexplicable, save by the Hand of God, that on the very same day, my co-blogger and I have begun separate, but significant adventures.

As I write, Rebekah is… on her way… to ISRAEL, for TEN…WHOLE… MONTHS.

And this morning, I attended… a real college campus… for the VERY… FIRST… TIME….

Okay, the latter was a little bit anticlimactic, but anyone who has been to college or high school understands me. Now, keep in mind that I have never attended public school, not ever. So, going into a campus, however small, for the first time was a little bit frightening.

My biggest takeaways from the 2 hours and forty five minutes-long experience?

A. It’s easy to get overwhelmed, and panic, and think that every class’s homework is going to take five hours a day. That’s because, on the first day, the teachers talk about what you’re going to be doing for the WHOLE SEMESTER. Therefore, it seems like a lot of coursework. In reality, though, each class shouldn’t take more than an hour or so of your time each day for homework, and even THAT might be pushing it to the extreme. I think that this is true for basics, at least, which are what my classes consist of this semester.

And, B. Other young people can be really odd eggs.

I don’t think that I really have to explain that last item.

I guess that, as a homeschooled student, I have lived a sheltered life. Well, I KNOW I have. For most of my life, I’ve only had one friend. And I didn’t watch Revenge of the Sith until I turned thirteen. Yeah, I know. The point is, I’m BOUND to be nervous. I believe that I’ll get the hang of things, eventually. But, if I’m being honest, I’ll admit that I was quite relieved to get back to the little building in the town I live just outside of, where my history class takes place. There, I actually KNOW people, and walls, and rooms, and teachers, and bathrooms….

But it’s an adventure. Perhaps it’s not as romantic or thrilling as, say, going to a foreign country for TEN MONTHS! *Gus, from Psych, voice* WHAT! But, one step at a time.

I am like Bilbo Baggins, I think, from The Hobbit. I am part skeptical and part adventurous, part Baggins and part Took.

And though right now, I feel more like a Baggins, I wonder if the other side will win out more than once, in the future….

2 thoughts on “Let The 75th Annual Hunger- Uh, I Mean, I Went To The Big College

  1. Yeah college can be scary, but hey college is also freaking awesome, fun, and cool 🙂 But good luck to the both of you and can’t wait to hear your tales from the road… or campus.. whatever haha

Leave a Reply

